Ties broken for 2010 NBA Draft

NEW YORK – Six ties among teams that finished the 2009-10 NBA regular season with identical records were broken today through random drawings to help determine the order of selection for the 2010 NBA Draft, which will be held on Thursday, June 24 at The WaMu Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

The drawings were conducted earlier today in New York City at the Board of Governors meeting by Stu Jackson, NBA Executive Vice President, Basketball Operations.

The results of the drawings:

  • Utah (53-29) won a tiebreaker with Atlanta and Denver; Atlanta then won a tie-breaker with Denver
  • Boston (50-32) won a tiebreaker with San Antonio, Oklahoma City and Portland; San Antonio then won a tie-breaker with Oklahoma City and Portland; Oklahoma City then won a tie-breaker with Portland
  • Memphis (40-42) won a tiebreaker with Toronto
  • The Los Angeles Clippers (29-53) won a tiebreaker with New York
  • Philadelphia (27-55) won a tiebreaker with Detroit
  • Golden State (26-56) won a tiebreaker with Washington

Attached is the order of selection for the 2010 NBA Draft, as well as the number of chances for teams in the 2010 NBA Draft Lottery, to be held May 18, at the NBA Entertainment studio in Secaucus, New Jersey.



The teams entered in the lottery, to be held on May 18, 2010, are as follows (note: the first three picks in the Draft will be determined by the lottery and the remainder of the “lottery teams” will select in positions 4 through 14 in inverse order of their consolidated standings at the end of the regular season):

TEAM                                                                                  RECORD          LOTTERY CHANCES

(out of 1,000)

New Jersey                                                                              12-70                           250

Minnesota                                                                                15-67                           199

Sacramento                                                                              25-57                           156

Golden State                                                                            26-56                           104

Washington                                                                              26-56                           103

Philadelphia                                                                             27-55                           53

Detroit                                                                                     27-55                           53

LA Clippers                                                                             29-53                           23

New York (To Utah via Phoenix)                                            29-53                           22

Indiana                                                                                    32-50                           11

New Orleans                                                                            37-45                           8

Memphis                                                                                  40-42                           7

Toronto                                                                                    40-42                           6

Houston                                                                                   42-40                           5


The order for the remainder of the first round picks is as follows:

  1. Chicago (To Milwaukee) 41-41
  2. Charlotte (To Minnesota via Denver) 44-38
  3. Milwaukee (To Chicago) 46-36
  4. Miami 47-35
  5. Boston 50-32
  6. San Antonio 50-32
  7. Oklahoma City 50-32
  8. Portland 50-32
  9. Utah (To Minnesota via Philadelphia) 53-29
  10. Atlanta 53-29
  11. Denver (To Memphis) 53-29
  12. Phoenix (To Oklahoma City) 54-28
  13. Dallas (To New Jersey) 55-27
  14. LA Lakers (To Memphis) 57-25
  15. Orlando 59-23
  16. Cleveland (To Washington) 61-21


  1. New Jersey
  2. Minnesota (To Oklahoma City)
  3. Sacramento

34/35.              Washington

34/35.              Golden State

36/37.              Detroit

36/37.              Philadelphia (To Milwaukee)

38/39.              New York

38/39.              LA Clippers (To New York via Denver)

  1. Indiana
  2. New Orleans (To Miami)

42/43.              Toronto (To Miami)

42/43.              Memphis (To LA Lakers)

  1. Chicago (To Portland)
  2. Houston (To Minnesota)
  3. Charlotte (To Phoenix)
  4. Milwaukee
  5. Miami
  6. San Antonio
  7. Oklahoma City (To Dallas)
  8. Portland (To Oklahoma City via Dallas and Minnesota)
  9. Boston
  10. Atlanta
  11. Denver (To LA Clippers)
  12. Utah
  13. Phoenix (To Minnesota)
  14. Dallas[1]
  15. LA Lakers
  16. Orlando
  17. Cleveland (To Phoenix)

*Please note that teams that finished the regular season with identical records will select in the second round in the reverse of the order in which they select in the first round; provided, however, that if more than two teams are tied, then, as among the tied teams, each tied team will select one position earlier than it selected in the first round, except that the team that selected earliest in the first round shall, among the tied teams, select latest in the second round. With respect to the ties between Golden State and Washington (34 and 35); Detroit and Philadelphia (36 and 37); the Los Angeles Clippers and New York (38 and 39); and Memphis and Toronto (42 and 43): since the order of selection in the first round for each set of teams may change based on the results of the Draft Lottery, the order of selection in the second round cannot be determined until after the Draft Lottery is conducted (on May 18, 2010).

[1] Pick may be conveyed to Indiana.