2012 NBA D-League Draft set for Nov. 2

NEW YORK – The NBA Development League announced today that its 2012 Draft will take place via teleconference on Nov. 2 at 7:00 p.m. ET, from the League’s New York headquarters.

The 2012 NBA D-League Draft order will be determined based on teams that did not qualify for the previous season’s playoffs, in reverse order of record, followed by those teams that did quality for the previous season’s playoffs, also in reverse order of record.  Based on this format, newly implemented for the 2012-13 season, the Fort Wayne Mad Ants have been awarded the first overall selection in next month’s Draft, with the Sioux Falls Skyforce, Idaho Stampede, Maine Red Claws and Reno Bighorns rounding out the top five, respectively.

“The upcoming NBA D-League Draft marks the official beginning of the 2012-13 NBA D-League season and gives more than 160 top prospects the opportunity to pursue their NBA dreams,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations and Player Personnel for the NBA D-League.  “The 2012 NBA D-League Draft class is sure to be an impressive one, with many of the players coming fresh out of NBA training camps, and we’re excited to welcome them to this league.”

More than 20 players selected in the last three NBA D-League Drafts went on to earn GATORADE Call-Ups to the NBA, including Jamaal Tinsley, the first overall selection in 2011.  Ten additional members of the last three NBA D-League Draft classes had NBA experience at the time of their selection.

Each of the NBA D-League’s 16 teams will be given one pick in each of the eight rounds.  No trades will be permitted during the draft and only players signed to an NBA Development League Standard Player Contract are eligible to be selected.

Fans can follow the eight-round NBA D-League Draft on nba.com/dleague, which will feature the picks updated in real time with an opportunity for fan commentary.

The order for each round of the 2012 NBA D-League Draft is as follows:

  1. Fort Wayne Mad Ants
  2. Sioux Falls Skyforce
  3. Idaho Stampede
  4. Maine Red Claws
  5. Reno Bighorns
  6. Tulsa 66ers
  7. Rio Grande Valley Vipers
  8. Texas Legends
  9. Iowa Energy
  10. Canton Charge
  11. Bakersfield Jam
  12. Erie BayHawks
  13. Santa Cruz Warriors
  14. Springfield Armor
  15. Austin Toros
  16. Los Angeles D-Fenders