NBA announces 2012 NWBA All-Star Wheelchair Classic teams

NEW YORK – The NBA today announced the 24 top basketball players from the National Wheelchair Basketball Association (NWBA) who will participate in the 14th annual NBA/NWBA All-Star Wheelchair Classic. The game will take place on Thursday, Feb. 23, at 6:45 p.m. at the Orange County Convention Center during NBA All-Star Jam Session.

A tradition that began at NBA All-Star 1998, the 2012 NBA/NWBA All-Star Wheelchair Classic will feature the top athletes from NBA affiliated NWBA teams. The players, selected by the NWBA, are divided into East and West All-Stars.  As part of the NBA Cares All-Star Community Caravan, NWBA All-Stars will also lead a basketball clinic for local youth athletes with lower limb impairments and their families immediately following the Wheelchair Classic.

“We are excited to be a part of NBA All-Star for our 14th consecutive year and to have the opportunity to demonstrate to NBA fans the level of skill that our NWBA athletes possess,” said NWBA President Dick Bryant. “Also, thanks to the NBA Cares program, our players will be able to work on wheelchair basketball fundamentals with young athletes from the Orlando area with and without disabilities and show them what they can achieve.”

“The NBA/NWBA All-Star Wheelchair Classic has become an integral part of our NBA Cares All-Star events,” said NBA Community Relations Senior Vice President Todd Jacobson.  “The NBA’s ongoing partnership with the NWBA continues to provide children and families in NBA All-Star cities with the opportunity to be inspired by and to learn from these amazing athletes.”

The National Wheelchair Basketball Association is comprised of more than 200 basketball teams within 22 conferences across the country. The NWBA was founded in 1948, and today consists of men’s, women’s, intercollegiate, and youth teams throughout the United States and Canada. For more information on the NWBA, please go to


NWBA East All-Star Team                                        NWBA West All-Star Team

East Head Coach – Doug Lilly                                          West Head Coach – Paul Jackson

Tim Caldwell – Charlotte Rollin’ Bobcats                         Jason “Jay” Nelms – Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks

Steve Smutak – Cleveland Wheelchair Cavaliers               Rodney Hawkins – Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks

David Radbel – Chicago Wheelchair Bulls                                    David Wilkes – Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks

Curtis Lease – Chicago Wheelchair Bulls                          Daniel Fik – Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks

Jeff Townsend – RHI Pacers                                             Robert Lynn – Denver Rollin’ Nuggets

Brian Bell – RHI Pacers                                                   Charles “Chuck” Gill – Golden State Road Warriors

Luis Amaro– Miami Heat Wheels                                     Trooper Johnson – Golden State Road Warriors

Paul Schulte – Orlando Magic Wheels                              Michael Garafola – L.A. Fast Breakin’ Lakers

Jeremy “Bull” Day – Orlando Magic Wheels                     Dustin Ferreira – Phoenix Banner Wheelchair Suns

James Van Beek – Orlando Magic Wheels                        Jeffrey Griffin – Utah Wheelin’ Jazz

Faizool Ali – New York Rollin’ Knicks                             Rod Niemann – Utah Wheelin’ Jazz

Joseph Henry – New Orleans Rollin’ Hornets


Fans can log on to for more information on NBA All-Star Jam Session.