2016 NBA Development League Draft set for Oct. 30

NEW YORK The NBA Development League today announced that the 2016 NBA D-League Draft will take place via teleconference on Sunday, Oct. 30 at 2 p.m. ET.  The six-round event is set to feature more than 200 draft-eligible players.  NBA D-League Draft selections will join players whose NBA Draft rights are held by teams, affiliate players, local tryout standouts, and returning players to populate 2016-17 NBA D-League team rosters.

The 2016 NBA D-League Draft selection order was first determined using the reverse order of 2015-16 regular-season results, with the teams that did not qualify for the 2016 playoffs selecting before teams that did compete in postseason.  The Draft order will also factor in trades, which are permitted for periods until Oct. 29 at 5 p.m. ET.   The final 2016 NBA D-League Draft order will be posted on nba.com/dleague on Oct. 29 after any potential trades have been completed.

The Greensboro Swarm, Long Island Nets and Windy City Bulls, all new to the NBA D-League for the 2016-17 season, will pick between the playoff and non-playoff teams in the reverse order of the 2016 Expansion Draft.  The Northern Arizona Suns (formerly Bakersfield Jam) and Salt Lake City Stars (formerly Idaho Stampede) will pick in place of their former identities.

Fans can follow the 2016 NBA D-League Draft in real time on nba.com/dleague.  No trades of players or picks will be permitted during the Draft and only players signed to NBA Development League Standard Player Contracts are eligible to be selected.

The NBA D-League’s 16th season tips off on Nov. 11 with a record 22 teams.  Following the Draft, teams will hold training camps beginning on Oct. 31, and will trim their rosters to 10 players on Nov. 10, in advance of the start of the season.

To date, the order for the first round of the 2016 NBA D-League Draft is as follows*:

1. Erie BayHawks
2. Santa Cruz Warriors
3. Oklahoma City Blue
4. Fort Wayne Mad Ants
5. Grand Rapids Drive (from Salt Lake City)
6. Grand Rapids Drive
7. Delaware 87ers
8. Northern Arizona Suns
9. Texas Legends
10. Santa Cruz Warriors (from Raptors)
11. Iowa Energy
12. Windy City Bulls
13. Greensboro Swarm
14. Long Island Nets
15. Salt Lake City Stars (from Los Angeles)
16. Westchester Knicks
17. Rio Grande Valley Vipers
18. Austin Spurs
19. Canton Charge
20. Maine Red Claws
21. Rio Grande Valley Vipers (From Reno)
22. Sioux Falls Skyforce

*Subject to change based on trade activity prior to 2016 NBA D-League Draft.

About the NBA Development League
The NBA Development League is the NBA’s official minor league, preparing players, coaches, officials, trainers, and front-office staff for the NBA while acting as the league’s research and development laboratory. Featuring 22 teams with direct affiliations with NBA franchises for the 2016-17 season, the league offers elite professional basketball at an affordable price in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere. An all-time high 38 percent of all NBA players at the end of the 2015-16 season boasted NBA D-League experience. In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA D-League Cares programs. Fans can watch all NBA D-League games on nba.com/dleague.