63 Former NBA D-Leaguers Highlight 2009-10 NBA Opening Day Rosters

NEW YORK An all-time high 63 players with NBA Development League experience highlight 2009-10 NBA opening day rosters.  The 63 former NBA D-Leaguers on NBA opening day rosters surpasses the previous highs of 60 featured on 2008-09 NBA start-of-season rosters, and the 44 former NBA D-Leaguers on 2007-08 opening day rosters.  In just four years, the number of former NBA D-League players on NBA start-of-season rosters has nearly doubled, going from 35 on opening day in 2006-07 to 63 today.

Twenty-nine of 30 NBA teams feature at least one player with NBA D-League experience, while the Cleveland Cavaliers, Houston Rockets, Minnesota Timberwolves, Orlando Magic and Toronto Raptors each have four former NBA D-Leaguers on their respective rosters.  Two members of the 2009 NBA D-League Champion Colorado 14ers are on NBA rosters, with Trey Gilder suiting up for the Memphis Grizzlies and Sonny Weems joining the Raptors.

Of the 63 former NBA D-League players currently in the NBA, 18 are members of teams in action tonight, including Shannon Brown, Jordan Farmar and Josh Powell, members of the defending NBA Champion Los Angeles Lakers.

Following is the list of players with NBA D-League experience on opening day rosters.

Player                                          NBA Team            Last NBA D-League Team

Alexis Ajinca*                              Charlotte                 Sioux Falls

Rafer Alston                                 New Jersey             Mobile

Louis Amundson                          Phoenix                  Colorado

Chris Andersen                             Denver                   Fayetteville

Joel Anthony*                              Miami                     Iowa

Kelenna Azubuike                       Golden State          Fort Worth

Jose Barea*                                  Dallas                     Fort Worth

Matt Barnes                                  Orlando                  Fayetteville

Brandon Bass*                             Orlando                  Fort Worth

Andray Blatche*                           Washington            Roanoke

Aaron Brooks*                             Houston                  Rio Grande Valley

Devin Brown                                New Orleans           Fayetteville

Shannon Brown*                          L.A. Lakers            Iowa

Derrick Byars                               Chicago                  Bakersfield

Will Bynum                                  Detroit                    Roanoke

Matt Carroll                                  Dallas                     Roanoke

Daequan Cook*                            Miami                     Iowa

Joey Dorsey*                                Houston                  Rio Grande Valley

Quincy Douby                              Toronto                  Erie

Jordan Farmar*                             L.A. Lakers            Los Angeles

Kyrylo Fesenko*                          Utah                       Utah

J.R. Giddens*                               Boston                    Utah

Trey Gilder                                   Memphis                Colorado

Marcin Gortat*                             Orlando                  Anaheim

Stephen Graham                           Charlotte                 Sioux Falls

Donte Greene*                             Sacramento             Reno

Hamed Haddadi*                          Memphis                Dakota

Malik Hairston*                            San Antonio           Austin

Jason Hart                                     Minnesota               Asheville

Chuck Hayes                                Houston                  Albuquerque

Ryan Hollins*                               Minnesota               Fort Worth

Othello Hunter*                            Atlanta                    Anaheim

Ersan Ilyasova                              Milwaukee              Tulsa

Darnell Jackson*                          Cleveland               Erie

Nathan Jawai*                              Minnesota               Idaho

Anthony Johnson                         Orlando                  Mobile

Amir Johnson*                             Toronto                  Sioux Falls

Dahntay Jones                              Indiana                   Fort Wayne

Coby Karl                                     Cleveland               Idaho

Kosta Koufos*                             Utah                       Utah

Shaun Livingston                          Oklahoma City                   Tulsa

Ian Mahinmi*                               San Antonio           Austin

Josh McRoberts*                          Indiana                   Idaho

Pops Mensah-Bonsu                     Houston                  Austin

C.J. Miles*                                    Utah                       Idaho

Jamario Moon                               Cleveland               Fort Worth

Mikki Moore                                 Golden State           Roanoke

Steve Novak*                               L.A. Clippers          Rio Grande Valley

Patrick O’Bryant*                         Toronto                  Bakersfield

Josh Powell*                                 L.A. Lakers            Fort Worth

Ramon Sessions*                          Minnesota               Tulsa

Bobby Simmons                           New Jersey             Revelers

Alando Tucker*                            Phoenix                  Iowa

Bill Walker*                                 Boston                    Utah

C.J. Watson                                  Golden State           Rio Grande Valley

Kyle Weaver*                               Oklahoma City                   Tulsa

Martell Webster*                          Portland                  Fort Worth

Sonny Weems*                             Toronto                  Colorado

D.J. White*                                   Oklahoma City                   Tulsa

Jawad Williams                             Cleveland               Rio Grande Valley

Sean Williams*                             New Jersey             Colorado

Louis Williams*                            Philadelphia            Fort Worth

Dorell Wright*                              Miami                     Florida

*NBA assigned player


The NBA Development League, founded in 2001, is the NBA’s official minor league whose teams have direct affiliations to NBA franchises.  For the 2009-10 season, the league will feature 16 teams – including the debut of the Maine Red Claws and the Springfield Armor.  A proven developer of talent, 20 percent of players in the NBA at the conclusion of the 2008-09 season boasted NBA D-League experience, while the league continues to develop coaches, referees, and front office staff for the NBA and its teams.  In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA D-League Cares programs.  The NBA D-League also advances the game of basketball as the research and development arm of the NBA.  Throughout the season fans can watch all NBA D-League games on NBA Futurecast, the free live Web-streaming initiative found at nba.com/futurecast.