Embiid, Bosh, Brogdon, Deng and Dieng headline Basketball Without Borders Africa 2019 in Senegal

JOHANNESBURG AND NEW YORK – The National Basketball Association (NBA), the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) and the Senegalese Basketball Federation today announced the top 60 boys and girls ages 17 and under from 29 African countries who will participate in the 17th edition of Basketball Without Borders (BWB) Africa when the camp returns to Senegal from Sunday, July 28 – Wednesday, July 31.

BWB, the NBA and FIBA’s global basketball development and community outreach program, will be held at The NBA Academy Africa in Saly on July 28 and at Dakar Arena from July 29-31, with NIKE serving as the official partner.

The campers will be coached by former and current NBA players, including two-time NBA All-Star Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers; Cameroon; BWB Africa 2011), two-time NBA Champion Chris Bosh (U.S.), 2017 NBA Rookie of the Year Malcolm Brogdon (Indiana Pacers; U.S.), two-time NBA All-Star Luol Deng (most recently with the Minnesota Timberwolves; South Sudan), Gorgui Dieng (Timberwolves; Senegal; BWB Africa 2009), Luc Mbah a Moute (most recently with the LA Clippers; Cameroon; BWB Africa 2003), Tacko Fall (Boston Celtics; Senegal),  Makhtar Ndiaye (former NBA player; Senegal), Boniface Ndong (former NBA player; Senegal) and NBA Global Ambassador Dikembe Mutombo (Democratic Republic of the Congo).

Joining the NBA players will be 2003 WNBA Champion and NBA Academy Africa Associate Technical Director, Astou Ndiaye (Senegal); Mozambique basketball legend and former WNBA player, Clarisse Machanguana (Mozambique); former NBA player and Philadelphia 76ers General Manager, Elton Brand (U.S.); former NBA player and Capital City Go-Go General Manager, Pops Mensah-Bonsu (UK/Ghana); and former NBA player and 76ers Technical Scout, Ruben Boumtje Boumtje (Cameroon).

NBA head coaches Kenny Atkinson (Nets), Doc Rivers (Clippers) and David Fizdale (New York Knicks), and current NBA assistant coaches DeSagana Diop (Utah Jazz; Senegal), B.J. Johnson (Houston Rockets), Vince Legarza (Jazz), Patrick Mutombo (Toronto Raptors) and Miles Simon (LA Lakers), will also serve as BWB Africa 2019 coaches.  Raptors President Masai Ujiri (Nigeria) and World Association of Basketball Coaches President and FIBA Technical Commission Chair Patrick Hunt (Australia) will be the camp directors.  A number of NBA front office personnel will also participate.

Players and coaches will lead the campers through a variety of activities, including movement efficiency, positional skill development, shooting and skills competitions, 5-on-5 games, and daily life skills seminars focusing on health, leadership and communication.  One boy and one girl will be named BWB Africa Camp Most Valuable Players at the conclusion of the camp.

NIKE, a global partner of BWB since 2002, will outfit the campers and coaches with NIKE apparel and footwear.

Through NBA Cares and the Jr. NBA, BWB Africa community outreach efforts in Senegal will use the power of sport to promote cultural understanding while teaching the importance of a healthy, active lifestyle and values of the game like teamwork, integrity and respect.  In partnership with BWB Africa’s longstanding partner Hoops 4 Hope, campers, players, and coaches will take part in two interactive life skills seminars designed to teach leadership and communication skills and share information about HIV/AIDS prevention.

Highlighting the week’s community efforts, the NBA and SEED Project will host a dedication ceremony for two newly refurbished courts in the Ndiareme Limamoulaye district of Guediawaye in Dakar on Monday, July 29, as well as basketball clinics for local boys and girls.  In addition, a group will visit the S.O.S. Children’s Villages in Dakar to tour the facilities and participate in a variety of activities with children and families living there.

The NBA and FIBA have staged 59 BWB camps in 38 cities in 30 countries on six continents.  BWB has hosted more than 3,500 participants from 129 countries and territories.  More than 290 current and former NBA and WNBA players have joined more than 240 NBA team personnel from all 30 NBA teams, with 68 former BWB campers drafted into the NBA or signed as free agents.

The following is a complete list of players participating in the 17th BWB Africa Camp:


Last Name First Name Country
Goncalves Tcheuzia Angola
Delgado Paula Cape Verde
Essome Amana Karel Vanessa Cameroon
Lukusa Enkawa Mabelle Democratic Republic of the Congo
Nasr Zeina Egypt
Edan Aworet Ilris Gabon
Touré Khadija Ivory Coast
Desiree Konan Affoue Emmanuella Ivory Coast
Matshine Doris Mozambique
Tamele Tania Mozambique
Fredricks Victory Nigeria
Funke Zaccheaus Oluwatunmise Nigeria
Oladipupo Opeyemi Balkis Nigeria
Sifa Ineza Rwanda
Tal Aminata Senegal
Dieng Fatou Senegal
Diop Mareme Senegal
Diatta Bineta Senegal
Apoudjak Yasmine Togo
Aharh Nougan Reana Togo




Last Name First Name Country
Anis Ghouar Mohamed Algeria
Seibou Aborney-Calavi Arzika Meyaki Benin
Zoungrana Ezzedine Steve Makieti Burkina Faso
Simo Ngoufanke Anthony Cameroon
Herve Junior Dzukam Kenmou Cameroon
Ngopot Jerry Dieu Beni Central African Republic
Outmane Oumar Abakar Chad
Numbi Mike Matunga Democratic Republic of the Congo
Ngalamulume Jonathan Kalonji Democratic Republic of the Congo
Abdelaty Abdalatib Mohab Yasser Egypt
Ehab Yehya Egypt
Abdalaty Abdallatif Mohab Yasser Egypt
Ndoh Mapangou Andy Paul Darel Gabon
Adamu Muazibini Jabal Ghana
Sylla Thierno Mamoudou Guinea
Doua Christ Ivory Coast
Okeyo Ricky Omondi Kenya
Heritiana Safidy Madagascar
Diop Mamoudou Mali
Hamza Ghoulial Morocco
Magagule Mucombo Samuel Mozambique
Ojianwuna Joshua Nigeria
Ariybi Oluwatobi Samuel Nigeria
Abodunrin Olusola John Nigeria
Okpene Emmanuel Eneji Nigeria
Shabakuru David Rwanda
Faye Babacar Senegal
Dieng Khadim Senegal
Mboup Moustapha Senegal
Sow Cheick Senegal
Lombie Henry Tilima James Sierra Leone
Ozabor Joshua Eromosele South Africa
Oelofse Jan-Cloete South Africa
Deng Deng Dhieu Kuac South Sudan
Jok Alier Kuol Alier South Sudan
Dielic Marial Mayom Malek South Sudan
Maiga Daudi Zabion Tanzania
Ben Zakour Ahmed Rayen Tunisia
Medini Mohamed Youssef Tunisia
Gumbo Nyasha Joseph Zimbabwe