Diana Taurasi voted by fans as WNBA’s greatest player of all time

NEW YORK – The WNBA announced today that Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi has been voted by fans as the league’s greatest of all time (GOAT).  The “Vote for the GOAT” platform was part of the WNBA’s celebration of its landmark 25th season.

Taurasi was announced as the greatest player in WNBA history today prior to Game 1 of the WNBA Finals 2021 presented by YouTube TV at Footprint Center in Phoenix.

“Congratulations to Diana Taurasi on being voted as the Greatest WNBA player of all time by the fans who have followed her illustrious career and saw her rise above the rest,” said WNBA Commissioner Cathy Engelbert.  “This well-deserved recognition reflects her sustained excellence on the court and her leading role in advancing the WNBA and women’s basketball and being a role model for young athletes everywhere.  The opportunity to honor Dee is yet another special moment in celebration of our historic 25th season.”

Taurasi has etched her name across the WNBA’s record books.  She is the league’s career leader in points, field goals made and three-point field goals made in both the regular season and the playoffs.  Her 14 All-WNBA Team selections are the most in league history, and her 10 WNBA All-Star selections are tied for second place.

Playing her entire 17-year WNBA career with Phoenix, Taurasi has won three WNBA championships and two WNBA Finals Most Valuable Player awards.  She has also earned one regular-season WNBA MVP award.

Taurasi was selected by the Mercury with the first overall pick in the 2004 WNBA Draft.  She has career averages of 19.4 points, 4.3 assists and 4.0 rebounds in 472 games.  Taurasi has led the WNBA in scoring five times and in assists once.

Fan voting to determine the GOAT was conducted on WNBA.com, the WNBA App and Twitter from Sept. 5-19.  Fans were able to vote for any member of “The W25,” the 25 greatest and most influential players in WNBA history, as selected by a panel of media members and women’s basketball pioneers.

“The W25,” which was unveiled on Sept. 5, includes 10 current players: Sue Bird, Tina Charles, Elena Delle Donne, Sylvia Fowles, Brittney Griner, Angel McCoughtry, Nneka Ogwumike, Candace Parker, Breanna Stewart and Diana Taurasi.  Fifteen retired players are also among the honorees: Seimone Augustus, Swin Cash, Tamika Catchings, Cynthia Cooper, Yolanda Griffith, Becky Hammon, Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie, Maya Moore, Ticha Penicheiro, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Smith, Sheryl Swoopes, Tina Thompson and Lindsay Whalen.  For more information about “The W25,” visit WNBA.com.

For being named the GOAT, Taurasi will receive a one-of-a-kind commemorative trophy, a basketball made of resin and marble, detailed with white mamba scales and inscriptions that recognize her accomplishments.

More on Taurasi

Named “The GOAT” – the Greatest of All Time – during the league’s 25th season in 2021

Named one of “The W25” during the league’s 25th season in 2021

Named one of the WNBA’s “Top 20@20” during the league’s 20th season in 2016

Named one of the WNBA’s “Top 15 Players” during the league’s 15th season in 2011

Named WNBA All-Decade Team Honorable Mention during the league’s 10th season in 2006

14-time All-WNBA selection

  • First Team – 2018, 2014, 2013, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006 and 2004
  • Second Team – 2020, 2017, 2016 and 2005

10-time WNBA All-Star selection – 2021, 2018, 2017, 2014, 2013, 2011, 2009, 2007, 2006 and 2005

Five-time WNBA scoring leader – 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008 and 2006

Three-time WNBA champion – 2014, 2009 and 2007

Two-time WNBA Finals MVP – 2014 and 2009

WNBA Most Valuable Player – 2009

WNBA Rookie of the Year – 2005

WNBA assists leader – 2014

Most points in the regular season (9,174) and playoffs (1,397)