NBA teams celebrate 45th anniversary of ABA’s founding with NBA Hardwood Classics Month

NEW YORK – The National Basketball Association (NBA) and adidas will celebrate the 45th anniversary of the American Basketball Association’s (ABA) founding with a series of games during NBA Hardwood Classics Month. The ABA existed for 10 seasons from 1967 to 1976, when four of its teams – Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers, New York Nets and San Antonio Spurs – joined the NBA.  This season is their 35th Anniversary since joining the league.  As part of the celebration, which tips off Feb. 1, nine teams – the Charlotte Bobcats, Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers, Los Angeles Clippers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Jersey Nets and San Antonio Spurs – will recognize the anniversary by wearing commemorative uniforms and hosting special in-arena events.

The uniforms, made in conjunction with adidas, the league’s official outfitter, will feature designs from the team’s storied past or as originally worn by the former ABA franchises in their geographic region – Charlotte Bobcats (Carolina Cougars), Los Angeles Clippers (Los Angeles Stars), Memphis Grizzlies (Memphis Tams), Miami Heat (Miami Floridians), Minnesota Timberwolves (Minnesota Muskies), New Jersey Nets (New York Nets) and San Antonio Spurs (Texas Chaparrals).

NBA Hardwood Classics Month will run through the month of February and will feature 38 games with 6 televised nationally on ABC, ESPN, TNT and NBA TV. All jerseys will be available on on Feb.2.