Sun’s Jonquel Jones named 2017 Most Improved Player

NEW YORK – Connecticut Sun forward/center Jonquel Jones, who produced a record-setting rebounding season, has been named the 2017 WNBA Most Improved Player, the WNBA announced today.  The second-year pro is the third Sun player to earn the honor since it was first presented in 2000.

Jones received 32 of 40 votes from a national panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.  Los Angeles Sparks guard Chelsea Gray finished second with three votes.  San Antonio Stars center Isabelle Harrison and Chicago Sky guard Allie Quigley tied for third with two votes each.  Washington Mystics center Krystal Thomas received one vote.

The 6-6 Jones set WNBA single-season records for rebounding average (11.9) and total rebounds (403), surpassing the marks established by Tina Charles in 2010.  Jones also set a WNBA single-season standard for total defensive rebounds (280), breaking the record set by Breanna Stewart in 2016.

Connecticut secured its first playoff berth since 2012 as Jones thrived under Head Coach and General Manager Curt Miller, who was honored today with the 2017 WNBA Coach of the Year and WNBA Basketball Executive of the Year awards.  The Sun, which earned the No. 4 seed in the WNBA Playoffs 2017 presented by Verizon, will host a second-round, single-elimination game against the Phoenix Mercury today at 3 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

A starter in all 34 games, Jones raised her scoring average from 6.8 points last season to 15.4 this year and lifted her rebounding average from 3.7 to 11.9.  She registered 20 double-figure scoring games, twice the number she tallied last year.  Jones also improved her three-point field goal percentage from 33.3 to 44.6 (25-of-56) and increased her free throw percentage from 73.9 to 81.8 (135-of-165).

In addition to leading the league in rebounding, the former George Washington University standout tied with Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles for the top spot in double-doubles with 20, up from two in her rookie season.  She also finished sixth in field goal percentage (.534, 181-of-339).

Jones was a first-round draft pick by Los Angeles in 2016 before being acquired by Connecticut on draft night.  The Bahamas native entered the 2017 season as the player most likely to have a breakout year, according to a vote by WNBA general managers.

In honor of being named the WNBA Most Improved Player, Jones will receive $5,000 and a specially designed trophy from Tiffany & Co.

Below are the voting results for the 2017 WNBA Most Improved Player and a list of past recipients:



Player                                  Team                                      Votes
Jonquel Jones                   Connecticut Sun                         32
Chelsea Gray                      Los Angeles Sparks                      3
Isabelle Harrison              San Antonio Stars                         2
Allie Quigley                       Chicago Sky                                   2
Krystal Thomas                 Washington Mystics                     1



Points             Player                                     Team
2017                Jonquel Jones                        Connecticut Sun
2016                Elizabeth Williams                 Atlanta Dream
2015                Kelsey Bone                           Connecticut Sun
2014                Skylar Diggins                        Tulsa Shock
2013                Shavonte Zellous                    Indiana Fever
2012                Kristi Toliver                          Los Angeles Sparks
2011                Kia Vaughn                             New York Liberty
2010                Leilani Mitchell                      New York Liberty
2009                Crystal Langhorne                  Washington Mystics
2008                Ebony Hoffman                      Indiana Fever
2007                Janel McCarville                    New York Liberty
2006                Erin Buescher                         Sacramento Monarchs
2005                Nicole Powell                         Sacramento Monarchs
2004                Wendy Palmer/Kelly Miller   Connecticut Sun/Indiana Fever
2003                Michelle Snow                        Houston Comets
2002                Coco Miller                            Washington Mystics
2001                Janeth Arcain                          Houston Comets
2000                Tari Phillips                            New York Liberty


About the WNBA
The WNBA – which features 12 teams and is the most successful women’s professional team sports league in the world – is a unique global sports property combining competition, sportsmanship, and entertainment value with its status as an icon for social change, achievement, and diversity.  The league, which counts Verizon as its leaguewide marquee partner, completed its 21st regular season on Sept. 3, 2017.

Through WNBA Cares, the WNBA is deeply committed to creating programs that improve the quality of life for all people, with a special emphasis on programs that promote a healthy lifestyle and positive body image, increase breast and women’s health awareness, support youth and family development, and focus on education.  For more information on the WNBA, log on to