Westchester’s Keith Wright earns NBA D-League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award

NEW YORK – Westchester Knicks forward Keith Wright has earned the 2016-17 NBA Development League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by his fellow Sportsmanship Award nominees.  The award honors the player who best represents the ideals of character and conduct on and off the court.

Wright, 27, was an integral member of the Westchester community throughout the season, participating in many outreach activities.  During the NBA D-League’s Season of Giving initiative, Wright worked with the Food Bank of Westchester, Xperience Outreach Program and the Boys & Girls Club of Northern Westchester to help spread holiday cheer.

Additionally, he accompanied Knicks mascot Hudson to surprise patients at Maria Fareri Children’s Hospital.  Wright also hosted a free Junior Dub Knicks Youth Clinic presented by Chase for more than 100 local children from Robert Jacobson Sports, and he participated in the NBA D-League Showcase Clinic in Toronto in January.

Wright is the founder of the Wright of Way, Inc. Foundation.  Formed in April 2015, the foundation helps student-athletes obtain scholarships and funding to further their education.

On the court, Wright (6-8, 240, Harvard) played in 47 games (32 starts) for Westchester this season, averaging 8.8 points and 6.9 rebounds in 26.7 minutes.  He scored in double figures 23 times, including a season-high 23 points in a 119-111 loss to the Fort Wayne Mad Ants on Jan. 12.  Wright joined the Knicks for the 2015-16 season after two seasons with the Austin Spurs.  In 128 career NBA D-League games, he has averaged 6.4 points and 6.0 rebounds.

The Sportsmanship Award honors former NBA D-League, Houston Rockets and Atlanta Hawks center Jason Collier, who passed away suddenly on Oct. 15, 2005.  Collier, a 2003-04 All-NBA D-League First Team selection as a member of the Fayetteville Patriots, was a player and person who exemplified the qualities of a faithful teammate, husband, father, son, brother and friend.  He was preparing to begin his sixth NBA season at the time of his death.

All-Time Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award Winners

2016-17: Keith Wright (Westchester Knicks)
2015-16: Scott Suggs (Raptors 905)
2014-15: Renaldo Major (Bakersfield Jam)
2013-14: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)
2012-13: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)
2011-12: Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy)
2010-11: Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers)
2009-10: Andre Ingram (Utah Flash)
2008-09: Will Conroy (Albuquerque Thunderbirds)
2007-08: Billy Thomas (Colorado 14ers)
2007-08: Roger Powell (Arkansas RimRockers)
2006-07: Ime Udoka (Fort Worth Flyers)

About the NBA Development League
The NBA Development League is the NBA’s official minor league, preparing players, coaches, officials, trainers, and front-office staff for the NBA while acting as the league’s research and development laboratory.  Featuring 22 teams with direct affiliations with NBA franchises for the 2016-17 season, the league offers elite professional basketball at an affordable price in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere.  An all-time high 38 percent of all NBA players at the end of the 2015-16 season boasted NBA D-League experience.  In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA D-League Cares programs.  NBA D-League games are available on ESPN’s family of networks, Facebook Live and NBA TV.