Rio Grande Valley’s Michael Frazier named 2018-19 NBA G League Most Improved Player

NEW YORK – Rio Grande Valley guard Michael Frazier has been named the 2018-19 NBA G League Most Improved Player.  The award honors the player who demonstrated the most significant improvement during the 2018-19 season and is voted on by the league’s 27 general managers and head coaches.

In his second NBA G League season and first since 2015-16, Frazier (6-4, 200, Florida) averaged 16.9 points, 5.5 rebounds and 3.4 assists in 45 games (39 starts).  He shot 44.6 percent from the field, reached the 20-point mark 17 times and led the Vipers in total points and field goals made.

Frazier averaged 13.3 points on 41.7 percent shooting through the first 24 games of the season.  His breakout month came in January, when he averaged 20.8 points, 5.7 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 1.9 steals in 11 games, a significant improvement from his December averages (11.4 points, 5.7 rebounds, 2.8 assists, 0.7 steals).  He capped off the month with a 43-point performance against the Sioux Falls Skyforce.

Frazier’s strong play continued in February and March when he averaged 18.6 points on 45.5 percent shooting.  He scored in double figures in 11 of 14 games to help Rio Grande Valley finish 34-16, clinch the Southwest Division title and earn the number one seed in the Western Conference.  In February, he was named to the USA World Cup Qualifying Team, which earned a spot in the 2019 FIBA World Cup.

Frazier will be presented with the award on Friday, March 29 before Rio Grande Valley’s Western Conference Semifinals game at Bert Ogden Arena (8 p.m. ET, Facebook Live).

Guard Tarik Phillip of the Memphis Hustle and center Norvel Pelle of the Delaware Blue Coats finished second and third in the Most Improved Player voting, respectively.

All-Time NBA G League Most Improved Player Award Winners:

2018-19: Michael Frazier (Rio Grande Valley Vipers)

2017-18: DeQuan Jones (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2016-17: Devondrick Walker (Delaware 87ers)

2015-16: Axel Toupane (Raptors 905)

2014-15: Joe Jackson (Bakersfield Jam)

2013-14: Frank Gaines (Maine Red Claws)

2012-13: Cameron Jones (Santa Cruz Warriors)

2011-12: Kenny Hayes (Maine Red Claws)

2010-11: Dar Tucker (New Mexico Thunderbirds)

2009-10: Mildon Ambres (Idaho Stampede)