Sparks’ Nneka Ogwumike wins 2020 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award

NEW YORK – Los Angeles Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike has been named the recipient of the 2020 Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award, the WNBA announced today.  This is the second straight Sportsmanship Award for Ogwumike, who joins Seattle Storm guard Sue Bird (2017, 2018) as the only players to earn the honor in consecutive years.

The Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, including ethical behavior, fair play and integrity.  The award is named for the late Kim Perrot, who helped guide the Houston Comets to their first two WNBA championships before passing away in August 1999 after a seven-month battle with cancer.

Ogwumike received 21 votes from a national panel of 46 sportswriters and broadcasters.  New York Liberty guard Layshia Clarendon (11 votes) and Atlanta Dream center/forward Elizabeth Williams (seven) finished in second and third place, respectively.  Washington Mystics guard Ariel Atkins (three), Dallas Wings guard Allisha Gray (two), Minnesota Lynx forward Napheesa Collier (one) and 2020 WNBA Most Valuable Player A’ja Wilson of the Las Vegas (one) also received votes.

A nine-year WNBA veteran, Ogwumike has served as President of the Women’s National Basketball Players Association since 2016.  As part of the dedication of the 2020 WNBA season to social justice, the league and State Farm named all WNBA players as the recipients of the 2020 season-long WNBA Community Assist Award presented by State Farm for their continued commitment, leadership and collaborative efforts to promote racial equality and systemic change.  Ogwumike also won the season-long award in 2018 for her dedication to community outreach.

In the 2020 WNBA season, Ogwumike averaged 13.3 points and 4.8 rebounds in 18 games.  The six-time WNBA All-Star was honored as the league’s Most Valuable Player in 2016, when she led the Sparks to the WNBA championship.  She was also named the 2012 WNBA Rookie of the Year, which followed her selection by Los Angeles as the No. 1 overall pick in the 2012 WNBA Draft.

Below are the voting results for the 2020 WNBA Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award and a list of all-time winners.