Raptors 905’s Scott Suggs receives NBA D-League Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award

NEW YORK – Raptors 905 guard Scott Suggs has received the 2016 NBA Development League’s Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award, as voted on by the league’s 19 head coaches.  The award honors the player who best represents the ideals of character and conduct on and off the court.

Off the court, Suggs played an important role in Raptors 905’s public relations efforts in its inaugural season. In addition to being a prominent figure in team appearances at local schools and community groups throughout the season, Suggs was one of four Raptors 905 players to stay an extra week in Mississauga after the regular season to make additional school visits, speaking to students about the importance of education, goal-setting and perseverance. Suggs also addressed fans with pre-game thank-you speeches several times and was a central presence in the club’s media engagement.

Suggs (6-6, 195, Washington) appeared in all 50 games averaging 18.0 points, 3.4 rebounds and 1.9 assists. He scored at least 20 points in 19 games and was named to the Eastern Conference team for the 2016 NBA Development League All-Star Game presented by Kumho Tire. Suggs returned to the NBA D-League this season after playing a season in France. He played his rookie season for the Erie BayHawks in 2013-14.

The name of the Sportsmanship Award was changed in 2006 to honor former NBA D-League, Houston Rockets and Atlanta Hawks center Jason Collier, who passed away suddenly on Oct. 15, 2005. Collier was a 2003-04 All-NBA D-League First Team selection as a member of the Fayetteville Patriots, but more importantly, he was a player and person who exemplified the qualities of a faithful teammate, husband, father, son, brother and friend. He was preparing to begin his sixth NBA season at the time of his death.

All-Time Jason Collier Sportsmanship Award Winners:

2015-16: Scott Suggs (Raptors 905)

2014-15: Renaldo Major (Bakersfield Jam)

2013-14: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2012-13: Ron Howard (Fort Wayne Mad Ants)

2011-12: Moses Ehambe (Iowa Energy)

2010-11: Larry Owens (Tulsa 66ers)

2009-10: Andre Ingram (Utah Flash)

2008-09: Will Conroy (Albuquerque Thunderbirds)

2007-08: Billy Thomas (Colorado 14ers)

2007-08: Roger Powell (Arkansas RimRockers)

2006-07: Ime Udoka (Fort Worth Flyers)

The NBA Development League is the NBA’s official minor league, preparing players, coaches, officials, trainers, and front-office staff for the NBA while acting as the league’s research and development laboratory. Featuring 19 teams with direct affiliations with NBA franchises for the 2015-16 season, the league offers elite professional basketball at an affordable price in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere. An all-time high 38 percent of all NBA players at the end of the 2014-15 season boasted NBA D-League experience. In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA D-League Cares programs. Fans can watch all NBA D-League games on nbadleague.com.