Lakers’ Ron Artest wins 2010-11 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award

NEW YORK Ron Artest of the Los Angeles Lakers is the 2010-11 recipient of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association. The award is named for the second commissioner of the league and honors an NBA player or coach for outstanding service and dedication to the community.

Artest won for his tireless efforts to promote awareness of mental health, including fund-raising, appearing before Congress in support of Mental Health in Schools Act and his all-around advocacy on the issue. Artest also raffled off his 2010 Championship Ring, raising more than $650,000 for mental health awareness, and took part in a public service announcement in conjunction with the Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health.

“Ron has such a passion for the issue, and has demonstrated such leadership he was a perfect choice for such a prestigious award,” said Doug Smith of the Toronto Star and president of the Professional Basketball Writers Association. “His work embodies the kind of dedication to important causes that NBA players have become known for.”

The PBWA represents approximately 150 writers for newspapers, magazines and Internet services who cover the NBA on a regular basis. Members nominate players and coaches and vote for the award. The finalists for the award this season were Artest, Marcus Camby of the Portland Trail Blazers, Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic and Kyle Korver of the Chicago Bulls.

Following is a list of the all-time recipients of the NBA J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award:


Season           Winner, Team
1974-75         Wes Unseld, Washington
1975-76         Slick Watts, Seattle
1976-77         Dave Bing, Washington
1977-78         Bob Lanier, Detroit
1978-79         Calvin Murphy, Houston
1979-80         Austin Carr, Cleveland
1980-81         Mike Glenn, New York
1981-82         Kent Benson, Detroit
1982-83         Julius Erving, Philadelphia
1983-84         Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85         Dan Issel, Denver
1985-86         Michael Cooper, LA Lakers and Rory Sparrow, New York
1986-87         Isiah Thomas, Detroit
1987-88         Alex English, Denver
1988-89         Thurl Bailey, Utah
1989-90         Doc Rivers, Atlanta
1990-91         Kevin Johnson, Phoenix
1991-92         Magic Johnson, LA Lakers
1992-93         Terry Porter, Portland
1993-94         Joe Dumars, Detroit
1994-95         Joe O’Toole, Atlanta
1995-96         Chris Dudley, Portland
1996-97         P.J. Brown, Miami
1997-98         Steve Smith, Atlanta
1998-99         Brian Grant, Portland
1999-00         Vlade Divac, Sacramento
2000-01         Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02         Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2002-03         David Robinson, San Antonio
2003-04         Reggie Miller, Indiana
2004-05         Eric Snow, Cleveland
2005-06         Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
2006-07         Steve Nash, Phoenix
2007-08         Chauncey Billups, Detroit
2008-09         Dikembe Mutombo, Houston
2009-10         Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia
2010-11         Ron Artest, L.A. Lakers