Timberwolves’ Leandro Bolmaro and Pacers’ Chris Duarte to coach top prospects from Latin America and Canada at Basketball Without Borders Americas in Mexico

NEW YORK AND MEXICO CITY – The National Basketball Association (NBA) and the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) today announced the top 64 boys and girls from 17 countries and territories who will travel to San Luis Potosí, Mexico for the 11th Basketball Without Borders (BWB) Americas camp.  The camp will be held Monday, May 16 – Thursday, May 19 at La Loma Centro Deportivo (La Loma), the official home of NBA Academy Latin America, marking the first BWB camp since BWB Global at NBA All-Star 2020 in Chicago and first in Mexico since 2009.

Part of the NBA and FIBA’s global basketball development and community outreach program, BWB Americas 2022 will bring together the top high-school age boys and girls from throughout Latin America, Canada and the Caribbean to compete alongside their peers from across the region and learn directly from current and former NBA, WNBA, NBA G League and FIBA players and coaches.

The campers will be coached by NBA players Leandro Bolmaro (Minnesota Timberwolves; Argentina; BWB Americas 2017) and Chris Duarte (Indiana Pacers; Dominican Republic).  NBA, NBA G League and FIBA assistant coaches Lindsey Harding (Sacramento Kings), Steve Hetzel (Portland Trail Blazers), Sidney Lowe (Cleveland Cavaliers), Ron Nored (Pacers), Don Showalter (USA Basketball) and Mitch Thompson (Mexico City Capitanes) will also serve as BWB Americas coaches.

Patrick Hunt (President of the World Association of Basketball Coaches) from Australia and Gersson Rosas (New York Knicks Senior Basketball Advisor) from Colombia will serve as camp directors, while Tony Katzenmeier (Oklahoma City Thunder) will serve as the camp’s athletic trainer.

Players and coaches will lead the campers through a variety of activities, including movement efficiency drills, offensive and defensive skill stations, three-point contests, 5-on-5 games, and life skills and leadership development sessions.  A ceremony on the final day of the camp will award the BWB Americas 2022 MVP, Defensive MVP, Three-Point Champion and the Patrick Baumann Sportsmanship Award to the boys and girls who distinguish themselves on the court and as leaders.

BWB Americas 2022 will also feature a Jr. NBA clinic at Escuela Primaria Oficial Heróinas Mexicanas where the league will unveil a newly refurbished basketball court as part of the NBA 75th Live, Learn or Play initiative.  Earlier this year, NBA Latin America announced a commitment to renovate basketball courts across Argentina, Brazil, the Dominican Republic and Mexico.  BWB coaches will lead participants through a series of fun and developmental on-court drills and exercises that emphasize core values of the game such as teamwork, respect, determination and community.

Nike, a BWB global partner since 2002, will outfit the campers and coaches with Nike apparel and footwear.

The NBA and FIBA have hosted 62 BWB camps in 30 countries since the program’s launch in 2001.  BWB has reached more than 3,700 participants from 133 countries and territories, with 97 former campers drafted into the NBA and WNBA or signed as free agents, including former BWB Americas campers Bolmaro, Facundo Campazzo (Denver Nuggets; Argentina; BWB Americas 2009), Kai Jones (Charlotte Hornets; Bahamas; BWB Americas 2017), Kelly Olynyk (Detroit Pistons; Canada; BWB Americas 2013) and Luca Vildoza (Milwaukee Bucks; Argentina; BWB Americas 2013).  BWB Americas 2019 took place in Medellin, Colombia and brought together more than 60 boys and girls players to learn from former BWB campers Bruno Caboclo (Brazil; BWB Americas 2013) and Jamal Murray (Nuggets; Canada; BWB Global 2015), among others.

 The following is a complete list of players participating in the 11th BWB Americas camp (rosters subject to change):


First Name Last Name Country
Dagmar Hentschel Argentina
Juana Amaya Argentina
Angelina Giacone Argentina
Arianny Francisco De Oliveira Brazil
Ana Beatriz Passos Alves Da Silva Brazil
Marcella Prande Freitas Brazil
Cassandre Prosper Canada
Toby Fournier Canada
Ajok Madol Canada
Vania Veronica Vega Marileo Chile
Sofia Joana Paredes Amestica Chile
Sienna Cherwinski Colombia
Aalhyah Escoe Reid Costa Rica
Rocio Maria Jimenez Encarnacion Dominican Republic
Gia Naely Zambrano Cedeño Ecuador
Gizel Navarro Rojas Mexico
Regina Yáñez Enríquez Mexico
Loriette Arrieta Mexico
Dana Camila Ramón Méndez Mexico
Valeria Flores Mexico
Daniela Mendoza Portillo Mexico
Franchesca Torres Puerto Rico
Lucia Auza Uruguay
Carmela Fontes Uruguay



First Name Last Name Country
Tequan Joshua Brodie Antigua & Barbuda
Tiago Ignacio Drocezesky Argentina
Valentino Finetti Lopez Argentina
Maximo Lomello Bagna Argentina
Tiziano Uriel Sebastian Prome Argentina
Juan Ignacio Respaud Argentina
Eduardo Bersch Klafke Brazil
Andre Felipe Da Silva Candido Brazil
Enrico De Paula Oliveira Brazil
Vitor Hugo Farias Cardoso Brazil
Winicius Silva Braga Brazil
Keenan Emmanuel Canada
Jovan Milicevic Canada
Christian Alexander Nitu Canada
Stephen Kofi Osei Canada
Ishan Vats Sharma Canada
Nogbou Chris Tadjo Canada
Raimundo Ignacio Orrego Aguila Chile
Juan Esteban Madrigal Renteria Colombia
Edwin Jose Niebles Herrera Colombia
Rodrigo Gabriel Aybar Dominican Republic
Gabriele Cambria Gonzalez Dominican Republic
Luis Alberto Diaz Gil Dominican Republic
Steven Solano Dominican Republic
Alejandro Castro Verdugo Mexico
Gualberto Landavazo Gallegos Mexico
Diego Alonso Martinez Gonzalez Mexico
Aram Vladimir Soqui Mexico
Humberto Isaias Kentish Robinson Panama
Antonio Emanuel Montiel Woodfin Paraguay
Keven Adorno Gonzalez Puerto Rico
Kenneth Omar Lopez Santiago Puerto Rico
Luis Fernando Marin Rodriguez Puerto Rico
Ayodeji Samuel Iwaro Trinidad & Tobago
Maximiliano Antunez Uruguay
Guzman Vasilic Delgado Uruguay
Kaden Jahnii Gumbs US Virgin Island
Jonathan Griman Herrera Venezuela
Carlos Jose Mijares Suarez Venezuela
Anthoan Maurice Urbina Serrano Venezuela