Top international prospects to participate in eighth annual Basketball Without Borders Global camp during NBA All-Star 2024

NEW YORK AND MIES, SWITZERLAND – The National Basketball Association (NBA) and the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) today announced that the eighth annual Basketball Without Borders (BWB) Global camp will be held Friday, Feb. 16 – Sunday, Feb. 18 at the Mojo Up Sports Complex as part of NBA All-Star 2024 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The camp, which will be open to NBA team personnel, will bring together 40 of the top high-school-age prospects from Africa, the Americas, Asia and Europe to participate in athletic testing, movement efficiency, skill development stations, shooting and skills competitions, life skills seminars and 5-on-5 games under the guidance of current and former NBA and WNBA players, legends and coaches, including Joakim Noah and Detlef Schrempf.

Several members of the NBA Coaching Development Program (CDP), which assists former players who are looking to transition into the coaching ranks and further deepen the pipeline of coaching talent across leagues, will also serve as BWB Global 2024 coaches, including four-time WNBA champion Cynthia Cooper, former NBA players Joey Dorsey and Flip Murray, former NBA G League player Wayne Blackshear, and Seattle Storm assistant coach and former WNBA player Ebony Hoffman.

A ceremony on the final day of the camp will award the Kim Bohuny Camp MVP, the Patrick Baumann Sportsmanship Award, the Three-Point Champion, the Defensive MVP and the Playoff MVP to the campers who distinguish themselves on the court and as leaders.  The campers will attend the 73rd NBA All-Star Game at Gainbridge Fieldhouse later that day.

Among the 41 former BWB campers on opening-night NBA rosters this season (active and inactive), 29 participated in BWB Global, including 2024 NBA All-Star Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (Oklahoma City Thunder; Canada; BWB Global 2016), Deandre Ayton (Portland Trail Blazers; Bahamas; BWB Global 2016), RJ Barrett (Toronto Raptors; Canada; BWB Global 2017), Rui Hachimura (Los Angeles Lakers; Japan; BWB Global 2016), Lauri Markkanen (Utah Jazz; Finland; BWB Global 2015), Bennedict Mathurin (Indiana Pacers; Canada; ties to Haiti; BWB Global 2020) and Jamal Murray (Denver Nuggets; Canada; BWB Global 2015).

BWB Global 2024 will be supported by Nike, a global partner of BWB since 2002, which will outfit participants with Nike apparel and footwear, and Gatorade, which will keep players and coaches hydrated throughout the camp.

The camp will feature nine current prospects from NBA Academy, a year-round elite basketball development program that provides top high-school-age athletes from outside the U.S. with a holistic approach to player development and a predictable pathway to maximize their potential: Luke Fennell (Australia), Gabriel Ferreira (Brazil), Jacob Furphy (Australia), Aleksandar Gavalyugov (Bulgaria), Julius Halaifonua (New Zealand), Khaman Maluach (South Sudan), Assane Mandian (Senegal), Hamad Mousa (Qatar) and Aginaldo Neto (Angola).

BWB, the NBA and FIBA’s global basketball development and community outreach program, has reached more than 4,300 participants from 140 countries and territories since 2001, with 114 former campers advancing to the NBA or WNBA.  The NBA and FIBA have staged 72 BWB camps in 48 cities across 33 countries on six continents.

Follow the camp using the hashtag #BWBGlobal on Facebook, Instagram and X.  Find out more about BWB at, on YouTube (Basketball Without Borders) and on Instagram (@basketballwithoutborders).

The following is a complete list of players participating in the eighth annual BWB Global camp (rosters are subject to change):

Name Country
Aginaldo Neto* Angola
Luke Fennell* Australia
Jacob Furphy* Australia
Roman Siulepa Australia
Gabriel Ferreira* Brazil
Enrico Vicentini Borio Brazil
Aleksandar Gavalyugov* Bulgaria
Spencer Ahrens Canada
Efeosa Oliogu Canada
Jaion Pitt Canada
William Riley Canada
Danny Carbuccia Dominican Republic
Alexander Constanza Dominican Republic
Noah Badibanga France
Mohamed Diakite France
Noa Essengue France
Nolan Traore France
Christian Anderson Germany
Jack Kayil Germany
Neoklis Avdalas Greece
Shon Abaev Israel
Ben Saraf Israel
Riku Segawa Japan
Kasparas Jakucionis Lithuania
Mantas Juzenas Lithuania
Ladji Coulibaly Mali
Mahamadoun Tiefing Diawara Mali
Chouaybou Keita Mali
David Mirkovic Montenegro
Julius Halaifonua* New Zealand
Apl Mcandrei Andy Gemao Philippines
Alejandro Aviles Valentin Puerto Rico
Hamad Mousa* Qatar
Assane Mandian* Senegal
Mouhamadou Moustapha Thiam Senegal
Savo Drezgic Serbia
Khaman Maluach* South Sudan
Iker Garmendia Garcia Spain

*NBA Academy Student-Athlete