Fan voting for the 2022-23 Bob Lanier Community Assist Award tips off today

NEW YORK – Fan voting for the 2022-23 Bob Lanier Community Assist Award will begin today at 12 p.m. ET and conclude on Sunday, May 21 at 11:59 p.m. ET, the NBA today announced.  Selected by fans and an NBA executive panel, the winner will be announced during the postseason to culminate the season-long recognition of NBA players’ commitments to their communities.  In 2022, the season-long award was renamed in honor of late Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer and NBA Global Ambassador, Bob Lanier, following his passing for his dedication to teaching NBA values and making a positive impact on communities across the globe.

The Bob Lanier Community Assist Award honors one player’s sustained efforts and difference-making work within their community over the course of the season.  The winner will be recognized with an award presentation and a $25,000 donation will be made by the NBA on his behalf to an organization of his choosing.

Fans can now vote for their preferred Bob Lanier nominee via Jebbit, a digital experience platform that captures zero party data, where they can view and select videos highlighting each player’s impact.

The 10 nominees include the offseason winner, six monthly winners and three additional players selected by the NBA for their exceptional community work in the last year.  During the regular season, the NBA Cares Community Assist Award recognizes an NBA player each month who best reflects the passion that the league and its players share for giving back to their communities and honors the standard set by NBA legend David Robinson, who worked to improve the community piece by piece.  The 2022-23 Bob Lanier Community Assist nominees are listed below with links to video highlighting their respective efforts:

Player Team Video
Keita Bates-Diop San Antonio Spurs
Alex Caruso Chicago Bulls
Pat Connaughton Milwaukee Bucks
James Harden Philadelphia 76ers
Brook Lopez Milwaukee Bucks
Tyrese Maxey Philadelphia 76ers
Cameron Payne Phoenix Suns
Dwight Powell Dallas Mavericks
Julius Randle New York Knicks
Marcus Smart Boston Celtics


To learn more about the NBA Cares Community Assist Award program, including the Bob Lanier Award, please visit