Clippers’ Jamal Crawford wins 2015-16 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award

NEW YORK – The Los Angeles Clippers’ Jamal Crawford is the winner of the 2015-16 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award for his contributions in a reserve role, the NBA announced today.  He becomes the first player to earn the honor three times.  The 36-year-old Crawford also breaks his own record, set two years ago, as the oldest winner.

Crawford amassed 51 first-place votes and 341 total points from a panel of 130 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.  The Golden State Warriors’ Andre Iguodala finished second with 288 points (33 first-place votes), and the Oklahoma City Thunder’s Enes Kanter was third with 182 points (19 first-place votes).

Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.  To be eligible for the award, players had to have come off the bench in more games than they started.

Crawford came off the bench in 74 of his 79 appearances and averaged 14.2 points and 2.3 assists in 26.9 minutes in all games, helping the Clippers (53-29) post their fourth straight 50-win season.  He recorded 33 games with 15 or more points off the bench, third most in the NBA behind the Denver Nuggets’ Will Barton (38) and the New Orleans Pelicans’ Ryan Anderson (36).  As a starter, Crawford scored at least 30 points in four of five games.  Crawford also ranked second in the NBA in free throw percentage (90.4).

A 16-year veteran, Crawford previously won the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award in 2009-2010 with the Atlanta Hawks and in 2013-14 with the Clippers.  When Crawford was honored for the first time as a Clipper, he joined Kevin McHale, Ricky Pierce and Detlef Schrempf as the only two-time winners.  Crawford is the only player to win the award with multiple teams.

As part of its support of the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award, Kia Motors America (KMA) will donate a brand new Sorento CUV to the Watts Willowbrook Boys & Girls Club on Crawford’s behalf.  Kia will present a 2016 Sorento to the charity of choice of each of five 2015-16 year-end award winners as part of the Kia NBA Performance Awards.  Following this season, Kia will have donated a total of 43 new vehicles to charitable organizations since its support of the NBA’s prestigious honors began in 2008.

The 2015-16 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award is part of a series of on-court performance awards called the Kia NBA Performance Awards. The series, currently in its ninth season, is part of a multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors and the NBA, and includes five of the league’s most prestigious year-end honors: Kia Most Valuable Player, Kia Defensive Player of the Year, Kia Sixth Man, Kia Most Improved Player and Kia Rookie of the Year.  The series also includes the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Rookies of the Month and the Kia NBA Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month during the regular season.  Kia Motors is the Official Automotive Partner of the NBA and the Kia Optima is the league’s Official Vehicle.  For more information, please visit

For the third year in a row, complete media voting results for each NBA annual award will be posted on after the announcement of each winner.  Click here for those results.

Below are the balloting results for the 2015-16 Kia NBA Sixth Man Award. The balloting was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.


Player Team 1st Place (5 Pts) 2nd Place (3 Pts) 3rd Place (1 Pt) Total Points
Jamal Crawford L.A. Clippers 51 23 17 341
Andre Iguodala Golden State 33 35 18 288
Enes Kanter Oklahoma City 19 20 27 182
Will Barton Denver 15 21 20 158
Evan Turner Boston 3 7 10 46
Ryan Anderson New Orleans 4 6 5 43
Jeremy Lin Charlotte 1 6 7 30
Ed Davis Portland 1 5 1 21
Dennis Schröder Atlanta 1 2 6 17
Tristan Thompson Cleveland 2 6 16
Shaun Livingston Golden State 1 4 7
J.J. Barea Dallas 1 2 5
Boris Diaw San Antonio 1 2 5
Zach LaVine Minnesota 1 1 4
Darren Collison Sacramento 1 3
Allen Crabbe Portland 1 1
Jrue Holiday New Orleans 1 1
Patrick Patterson Toronto 1 1
Mirza Teletovic Phoenix 1 1


Below is the all-time list of winners:


1982-83   Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84   Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85   Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86   Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87   Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88   Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89   Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90   Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91   Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92   Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93   Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94   Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95   Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96   Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97   John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98   Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99   Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-00   Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01   Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02   Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03   Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04   Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05   Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls
2005-06   Mike Miller, Memphis Grizzlies
2006-07   Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns
2007-08   Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs
2008-09   Jason Terry, Dallas Mavericks
2009-10   Jamal Crawford, Atlanta Hawks
2010-11   Lamar Odom, Los Angeles Lakers
2011-12   James Harden, Oklahoma City Thunder
2012-13   J.R. Smith, New York Knicks
2013-14   Jamal Crawford, Los Angeles Clippers
2014-15   Lou Williams, Toronto Raptors
2015-16   Jamal Crawford, Los Angeles Clippers