Knicks’ Jason Kidd wins 2012-13 NBA Sportsmanship Award

NEW YORK – Jason Kidd of the New York Knicks is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2012-13 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today. Kidd becomes the first back-to-back winner, having won the award last season as a member of the Dallas Mavericks. Additionally, Kidd is only the second player to win multiple NBA Sportsmanship awards, joining Grant Hill, who has been honored three times.

Kidd (Atlantic) was one of six divisional winners, which included Chicago’s Luol Deng (Central), Golden State’s Stephen Curry (Pacific), Memphis’ Mike Conley (Southwest), Oklahoma City’s Nick Collison (Northwest), and Orlando’s Jameer Nelson (Southeast).

Kidd received 91 first-place votes (2,474 total points) of a possible 355. The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Kidd to The Jason Kidd Foundation, which is dedicated to improving education among the youth, by ensuring that kids of all ages have the tools needed through mentoring, tutoring and technology programs to succeed in life.

For the ninth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received.  Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players John Crotty, Antonio Davis, Eddie Johnson, Steve Smith, and Jay Williams selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The NBA will make a $5,000 donation to each of the divisional winner’s charities of choice: the Luol Deng Foundation on behalf of Deng; Rapha House on behalf of Curry; Methodist Healthcare Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center on behalf of Conley; Care OKC on behalf of Collison; Pete and Jameer Nelson Foundation on behalf of Nelson.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship — ethical behavior, fair play and integrity — in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league’s NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award’s first recipient.

Following is a list of this year’s voting totals for 2012-13 the NBA Sportsmanship Award.


Player, Team                                1st        2nd       3rd        4th        5th        6th        Points

Jason Kidd, New York                 91        64        75        43        38        43        2,474

Stephen Curry, Golden State          62        73        62        44        79        31        2,261

Luol Deng, Chicago                       48        63        79        56        60        47        2,155

Mike Conley, Memphis                 44        66        57        56        72        54        2,027

Nick Collison, Oklahoma City       64        39        40        76        50        83        1,948

Jameer Nelson, Orlando                46        50        40        74        50        90        1,846


1995-96:    Joe Dumars, Detroit

1996-97:    Terrell Brandon, Cleveland

1997-98:    Avery Johnson, San Antonio

1998-99:    Hersey Hawkins, Seattle

1999-00:    Eric Snow, Philadelphia

2000-01:    David Robinson, San Antonio

2001-02:    Steve Smith, San Antonio

2002-03:    Ray Allen, Seattle

2003-04:    P.J. Brown, New Orleans

2004-05:     Grant Hill, Orlando

2005-06:     Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers

2006-07:     Luol Deng, Chicago

2007-08:     Grant Hill, Phoenix

2008-09:     Chauncey Billups, Denver

2009-10:     Grant Hill, Phoenix

2010-11:     Stephen Curry, Golden State

2011-12:     Jason Kidd, Dallas

2012-13:     Jason Kidd, New York