Bulls’ Joakim Noah wins 2014-15 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award

NEW YORK – Joakim Noah of the Chicago Bulls has won the 2014-15 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award as selected by the Professional Basketball Writers Association (PBWA). The honor, named after the NBA’s second commissioner, is presented annually by the PBWA to the player, coach or athletic trainer who shows outstanding service and dedication to the community.

The other finalists for the award were forward Tobias Harris of the Orlando Magic, forward Greg Monroe of the Detroit Pistons, guard Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers and forward Zach Randolph of the Memphis Grizzlies.

Noah, a two-time All-Star center who has spent his entire eight-year career with the Bulls, has dedicated himself to helping children develop a stronger sense of self through his Noah’s Arc Foundation (NAF). The foundation recently launched the “Rock Your Drop: The Drop of Consciousness” anti-violence initiative, which supports those affected by violence and encourages youth to express themselves through creative outlets like sports and art.

NAF also produced the “You’re Not Alone” anti-violence video featuring first-hand stories from those who have lost loved ones to violence, including Noah’s teammates Taj Gibson, Nazr Mohammed and Derrick Rose. Last summer, in his ongoing efforts to raise awareness of gun violence and promote unity in Chicago, Noah and NAF debuted the #ChicagoStandUp public service announcement and hosted a basketball tournament that brought together young men from the south and west sides of the city.

“Joakim’s initiatives to slow the violence in Chicago should inspire us all to help in our communities,” said PBWA President Josh Robbins of the Orlando Sentinel. “His creative, sustained efforts stood out in perhaps the deepest pool of worthy candidates in the 41-year history of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award.”

The PBWA is composed of approximately 175 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis for newspapers, online outlets and magazines.


Season    Winner, Team
1974-75    Wes Unseld, Washington
1975-76    Slick Watts, Seattle
1976-77    Dave Bing, Washington
1977-78    Bob Lanier, Detroit
1978-79    Calvin Murphy, Houston
1979-80    Austin Carr, Cleveland
1980-81    Mike Glenn, New York
1981-82    Kent Benson, Detroit
1982-83    Julius Erving, Philadelphia
1983-84    Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85    Dan Issel, Denver
1985-86    Michael Cooper, L.A. Lakers
Rory Sparrow, New York
1986-87    Isiah Thomas, Detroit
1987-88    Alex English, Denver
1988-89    Thurl Bailey, Utah
1989-90    Doc Rivers, Atlanta
1990-91    Kevin Johnson, Phoenix
1991-92    Magic Johnson, L.A. Lakers
1992-93    Terry Porter, Portland
1993-94    Joe Dumars, Detroit
1994-95    Joe O’Toole, Atlanta
1995-96    Chris Dudley, Portland
1996-97    P.J. Brown, Miami
1997-98    Steve Smith, Atlanta
1998-99    Brian Grant, Portland
1999-00    Vlade Divac, Sacramento
2000-01    Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02    Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2002-03    David Robinson, San Antonio
2003-04    Reggie Miller, Indiana
2004-05    Eric Snow, Cleveland
2005-06    Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
2006-07    Steve Nash, Phoenix
2007-08    Chauncey Billups, Detroit
2008-09    Dikembe Mutombo, Houston
2009-10    Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia
2010-11    Metta World Peace, L.A. Lakers
2011-12    Pau Gasol, L.A. Lakers
2012-13    Kenneth Faried, Denver
2013-14    Luol Deng, Cleveland
2014-15    Joakim Noah, Chicago