Nuggets’ Kenneth Faried wins 2012-13 J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award

NEW YORK – Kenneth Faried of the Denver Nuggets has been voted the 2012-13 winner of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award, named after the second commissioner of the NBA and presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association to the player, coach or trainer who shows outstanding service and dedication to the community.

Faried won the NBA’s “Kia Community Assist Award” for February in recognition of his outstanding efforts in the community and his ongoing philanthropic and charitable work, including his efforts to champion equality and bring awareness to the importance of respect and inclusion. Faried recently became a member of Athlete Ally, an organization that works to encourage acceptance of others and end homophobia in sports. In a show of support for equal rights, he attended the launch party for One Colorado to celebrate the passing of Senate Bill 11, The Colorado Civil Union Act. Faried also supported the message of inclusion by participating as an honorary coach at the 2013 NBA Cares Special Olympics Unified Sports Basketball Game during NBA All-Star in Houston.

The Nuggets forward has been an integral part of the team’s community outreach efforts this season, having purchased a block of season tickets for distribution to children from Special Olympics Colorado, Denver Public Schools and the Denver Rescue Mission as part of the team’s community ticket program. Faried also joined the giveSPORTS Equipment Drive to provide inspiration and joy for individuals affected by the Colorado wildfires and the tragic shooting at the Aurora movie theater. As part of the NBA Cares Pediatric Cancer Awareness Campaign, Faried brought smiles to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital patients and families by treating the group to an unforgettable Team Fit clinic. Faried also donated and personally delivered 44 pairs of sneakers to a local middle school basketball team for use during the upcoming season. During his visit, he met with the team to discuss the importance of teamwork, sportsmanship and education.

“Kenneth’s commitment to equality and inclusion is praise-worthy,” said Mary Schmitt Boyer of the Cleveland Plain Dealer, president of the Professional Basketball Writers Association. “He has reached out to so many areas in need and touched so many different communities in Denver and Colorado that it is only right to celebrate his efforts.”

The PBWA comprises approximately 125 writers for newspapers, Internet services and magazines, who cover the NBA on a regular basis. Other finalists nominated by PBWA members this year were Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks, Luol Deng of the Chicago Bulls, Kyle Korver of the Atlanta Hawks, David Lee of the Golden State Warriors, Jason Terry of the Boston Celtics and Tristan Thompson of the Cleveland Cavaliers.


Season    Winner, Team
1974-75    Wes Unseld, Washington
1975-76    Slick Watts, Seattle
1976-77    Dave Bing, Washington
1977-78    Bob Lanier, Detroit
1978-79    Calvin Murphy, Houston
1979-80    Austin Carr, Cleveland
1980-81    Mike Glenn, New York
1981-82    Kent Benson, Detroit
1982-83    Julius Erving, Philadelphia
1983-84    Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85    Dan Issel, Denver
1985-86    Michael Cooper, LA Lakers
Rory Sparrow, New York
1986-87    Isiah Thomas, Detroit
1987-88    Alex English, Denver
1988-89    Thurl Bailey, Utah
1989-90    Doc Rivers, Atlanta
1990-91    Kevin Johnson, Phoenix
1991-92    Magic Johnson, LA Lakers
1992-93    Terry Porter, Portland
1993-94    Joe Dumars, Detroit
1994-95    Joe O’Toole, Atlanta
1995-96    Chris Dudley, Portland
1996-97    P.J. Brown, Miami
1997-98    Steve Smith, Atlanta
1998-99    Brian Grant, Portland
1999-00    Vlade Divac, Sacramento
2000-01    Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02    Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2002-03    David Robinson, San Antonio
2003-04    Reggie Miller, Indiana
2004-05    Eric Snow, Cleveland
2005-06    Kevin Garnett, Minnesota
2006-07    Steve Nash, Phoenix
2007-08    Chauncey Billups, Detroit
2008-09    Dikembe Mutombo, Houston
2009-10    Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia
2010-11    Metta World Peace, L.A. Lakers
2011-12    Pau Gasol, L.A. Lakers
2012-13    Kenneth Faried, Denver