Stars’ Bart Taylor named 2019-20 NBA G League Basketball Executive of the Year

NEW YORK – Salt Lake City Stars Vice President of Basketball Operations Bart Taylor has been named the 2019-20 NBA G League Basketball Executive of the Year, the NBA League announced today.  Taylor earned the honor in a vote of NBA G League team basketball executives.

 In his fourth season as Vice President of Basketball Operations for the Utah Jazz’s NBA G League affiliate, Taylor oversaw a team that finished with the best record in the Western Conference (30-12) and earned at least 30 wins for the first time since the 2008-09 season.

Earlier today, Salt Lake City head coach Martin Schiller was named the 2019-20 NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year.  Hired by Taylor and the Stars in 2017, Schiller led Salt Lake City to 14 consecutive victories from Nov. 15 to Dec. 27 – tied for the second-longest single-season winning streak in league history.  The Stars also won the 2019 MGM Resorts NBA G League Winter Showcase in December in Las Vegas.

Taylor’s player acquisitions included guard Trevon Bluiett (14.9 ppg, 3.4 rpg) and forwards William Howard (13.1 ppg, 5.5 rpg) and Juwan Morgan (14.3 ppg, 7.7 rpg).  Howard and Morgan earned GATORADE Call-Ups to the Houston Rockets and the Jazz, respectively.

Under Taylor’s leadership, Salt Lake City helped develop Utah’s rookies throughout the year, including NBA assignees Morgan, Miye Oni, Rayjon Tucker and Nigel Williams-Goss and two-way players Jarrell Brantley and Justin Wright-Foreman.  Utah center Tony Bradley and former Jazz guard Dante Exum also spent time with the Stars for rehab and practice assignments.

In addition to his role with the Stars, Taylor is in his fourth season as the Jazz’s Director of Scouting.  This is his eighth season overall with the Jazz organization, which hired him after he spent the 2011-12 season working in basketball operations with the San Antonio Spurs.

Memphis Hustle General Manager Daniel Marcus and Wisconsin Herd General Manager Dave Dean finished second and third, respectively, in voting for the 2019-20 NBA G League Basketball Executive of the Year Award.

The NBA G League canceled the remainder of its 2019-20 season on June 4.  The regular season was suspended on March 12 and had been scheduled to conclude on March 28.

NBA G League Basketball Executive of the Year Award Winners
2019-20: Bart Taylor (Salt Lake City Stars)
2018-19: Trajan Langdon (Long Island Nets)
2017-18: Malik Rose (Erie BayHawks)
2016-17: Mike Gansey (Canton Charge)
2015-16: Adam Simon (Sioux Falls Skyforce)