Stars’ Martin Schiller named 2019-20 NBA G League Coach of the Year

NEW YORK – Martin Schiller of the Salt Lake City Stars has been named the 2019-20 NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year, the NBA G League announced today.  Schiller earned the honor in a vote by the league’s 28 head coaches and general managers.

In his third season as head coach of the Utah Jazz’s NBA G League affiliate, Schiller guided the Stars to the best record in the Western Conference (30-12, .714).  Salt Lake City improved on last season’s winning percentage of .540 (27-23).

The Stars excelled on defense under Schiller, ranking second in the NBA G League in points allowed (106.1) and fourth in defensive rating (105.0).  They held opponents to the third-lowest field goal percentage (44.5) and the lowest three-point field goal percentage (31.4).  On offense, Salt Lake City ranked third in the NBA G League in both field goal percentage (48.0) and three-point field goal percentage (36.8).

Schiller was selected as the NBA G League Coach of the Month for December after guiding Salt Lake City to a league-best 9-1 record, including a 4-0 mark on the road.  The Stars won 14 consecutive games from Nov. 15 to Dec. 27, tying the second-longest single-season winning streak in NBA G League history.  They also won their final six games of the season.

With Schiller at the helm, Salt Lake City won the 2019 MGM Resorts NBA G League Winter Showcase in December in Las Vegas.  Schiller coached two players who earned GATORADE Call-Ups this season, William Howard (Houston Rockets) and Juwan Morgan (Jazz).

Before joining the Stars, the Austrian-born Schiller served as an assistant coach in the German Bundesliga with MHP Riesen Ludwigsburg (2015-17) and Artland Dragons (2010-15).  He has been an assistant coach for the German National Team since 2015.

The NBA G League Coach of the Year Award is named for the late Hall of Famer Dennis Johnson, a star NBA guard and NBA G League coach.  During his playing career with the Boston Celtics, Phoenix Suns and Seattle SuperSonics, Johnson won three NBA championships, earned five NBA All-Star selections and was named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team six times.  He was in his third season coaching in the NBA G League when he passed away in 2007.

Chase Buford of the Wisconsin Herd and Nate Reinking of the Canton Charge finished second and third, respectively, in voting for the 2019-20 NBA G League Coach of the Year Award.

The NBA G League canceled the remainder of its 2019-20 season on June 4.  The regular season was suspended on March 12 and had been scheduled to conclude on March 28.

NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award Winners
2019-20: Martin Schiller, Salt Lake City Stars
2018-19: Will Weaver, Long Island Nets
2017-18: Mike Miller, Westchester Knicks
2016-17: Jerry Stackhouse, Raptors 905
2015-16: Dan Craig, Sioux Falls Skyforce
2014-15: Scott Morrison, Maine Red Claws
2013-14: Conner Henry, Fort Wane Mad Ants
2012-13: Alex Jensen, Canton Charge
2011-12: Eric Musselman, Los Angeles D-Fenders
2010-11: Nick Nurse, Iowa Energy
2009-10: Chris Finch, Rio Grande Valley Vipers
2008-09: Quin Snyder, Austin Toros
2007-08: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede
2006-07: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede