Delaware Blue Coats’ Shaquille Harrison named 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Defensive Player of the Year

NEW YORK – Delaware Blue Coats guard Shaquille Harrison has been named the 2021-22 Kia NBA G League Defensive Player of the Year, the NBA G League announced today.  He is the second Blue Coats player to win the award in the last three seasons, joining 2019-20 winner Christ Koumadje.

The league’s head coaches and general managers voted for the Defensive Player of the Year Award.  Rio Grande Valley Vipers guard Trevelin Queen, the 2021-22 Kia NBA G League MVP, and Blue Coats forward Braxton Key finished in second and third place, respectively.

Harrison (6-4, 195, Tulsa) ranked seventh in the NBA G League in steals (1.93 spg) and added 12.7 points, 6.3 assists and 4.6 rebounds for the Blue Coats, who finished tied for second in the Eastern Conference with a record of 22-10.  He averaged 3.9 defensive rebounds per game and blocked 17 shots in 27 games.

Behind Harrison and Key, Delaware led the NBA G League in steals (11.8 spg), blocks (7.0 bpg) and forced turnovers per game (20.4).

Harrison, who was not selected in the 2016 NBA Draft, has appeared in parts of five NBA seasons with the Phoenix Suns, Chicago Bulls, Utah Jazz, Denver Nuggets and Brooklyn Nets.  In 2018-19, he played a career-high 73 games and averaged 6.5 points, 3.0 rebounds and 1.9 assists with the Bulls.

Harrison began the 2021-22 season in training camp with the Philadelphia 76ers before joining the team’s G League affiliate in Delaware.  He signed two 10-day contracts with the Nets in December, appearing in two games.  He signed a 10-day contract with the Memphis Grizzlies in January but did not appear in a game.

All-Time NBA G League Defensive Players of the Year
2021-22: Shaquille Harrison (Delaware Blue Coats)
2020-21: Gary Payton II (Raptors 905)
2019-20: Christ Koumadje (Delaware Blue Coats)
2018-19: Chris Boucher (Raptors 905)
2017-18: Landry Nnoko (Grand Rapids Drive)
2016-17: Edy Tavares (Raptors 905)
2015-16: DeAndre Liggins (Sioux Falls Skyforce)
2014-15: Aaron Craft (Santa Cruz Warriors)
2013-14: DeAndre Liggins (Sioux Falls Skyforce)
2012-13: Stefhon Hannah (Santa Cruz Warriors)
2011-12: Stefhon Hannah (Dakota Wizards)
2010-11: Chris Johnson (Dakota Wizards)
2009-10: Greg Stiemsma (Sioux Falls Skyforce)
2008-09: Brent Petway (Idaho Stampede)
2007-08: Stephane Lasme (Los Angeles D-Fenders) and Mouhamed Sene (Idaho Stampede)
2006-07: Renaldo Major (Dakota Wizards)
2005-06: Derrick Zimmerman (Austin Toros)
2004-05: Derrick Zimmerman (Columbus Riverdragons)
2003-04: Karim Shabazz (Charleston Lowgators)
2002-03: Mikki Moore (Roanoke Dazzle)
2001-02: Jeff Myers (Greenville Groove)

About the NBA G League

The NBA’s official minor league, the NBA G League prepares players, coaches, officials, trainers and front-office staff for the NBA while acting as the league’s research and development laboratory. Featuring 29 teams, 28 with direct affiliations to NBA franchises for 2020-21, the league offers elite professional basketball at an affordable price in a fun, family-friendly atmosphere. A record 45 percent of all NBA players at the start of the 2020-21 season boasted NBA G League experience. In fostering the league’s connection to the community, its teams, players and staff promote health and wellness, support local needs and interests, and assist in educational development through NBA Cares programs.

About Kia America
Headquartered in Irvine, California, Kia America continues to top automotive quality surveys and is recognized as one of the 100 Best Global Brands. Kia serves as the “Official Automotive Partner” of the NBA and offers a range of gasoline, hybrid, plug-in hybrid, and electrified vehicles sold through a network of nearly 750 dealers in the U.S., including several cars and SUVs proudly assembled in America.

For media information, including photography, visit To receive custom email notifications for press releases the moment they are published, subscribe at