Long Island Nets’ Will Weaver named 2018-19 NBA G League Coach of the Year

NEW YORK – Will Weaver of the Long Island Nets has been named the 2018-19 NBA G League Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year in a vote by NBA G League head coaches and general managers.

In his first season as an NBA G League head coach, Weaver guided the Brooklyn Nets’ affiliate to a franchise-record and league-high-tying 34 victories.  Long Island (34-16) earned the No. 1 seed in the Eastern Conference and secured the Atlantic Division title.

With Weaver leading the way, the Nets improved their record by seven games from the 2017-18 season (27-23).  The improvement featured a stretch with 10 consecutive victories, the longest winning streak in the NBA G League this season.  Weaver was named the NBA G League Coach of the Month for March after the Nets went 9-1 during the month.

For the season, the Nets averaged NBA G League highs of 117.7 points and 53.9 rebounds per game.  They also ranked fourth in defensive rating (104.4).  Under Weaver’s direction, Long Island produced two GATORADE Call-Ups – Mitch Creek and Tahjere McCall to the Brooklyn Nets.

Weaver joined Long Island after spending the last two seasons with the Brooklyn Nets as special assistant to head coach Kenny Atkinson.  Before joining the Nets’ organization in 2016, Weaver spent three seasons with the Philadelphia 76ers, most recently in the role of special assistant to head coach Brett Brown.  Weaver also serves as an assistant coach with the Australian National Team, a position he has held since 2014.  He coached in the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

The NBA G League Coach of the Year Award is named for the late Hall of Famer Dennis Johnson, a star NBA guard and NBA G League coach.  During his playing career with the Boston Celtics, Phoenix Suns and Seattle SuperSonics, Johnson won three NBA titles, played in five NBA All-Star Games and was named to the NBA All-Defensive First Team six times.  He was in his third season coaching in the NBA G League when he passed away in 2007.

Weaver will be presented with the award tonight before Long Island hosts Raptors 905 in the Eastern Conference Semifinals at NYCB LIVE’s Nassau Coliseum (7 p.m. ET, Facebook Live).

Mark Daigneault of the Oklahoma City Blue and Joseph Blair of the Rio Grande Valley Vipers finished second and third, respectively, in voting for the 2018-19 NBA G League Coach of the Year Award.

Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year Award Recipients

2018-19: Will Weaver, Long Island Nets

2017-18: Mike Miller, Westchester Knicks

2016-17: Jerry Stackhouse, Raptors 905

2015-16: Dan Craig, Sioux Falls Skyforce

2014-15: Scott Morrison, Maine Red Claws

2013-14: Conner Henry, Fort Wane Mad Ants

2012-13: Alex Jensen, Canton Charge

2011-12: Eric Musselman, Los Angeles D-Fenders

2010-11: Nick Nurse, Iowa Energy

2009-10: Chris Finch, Rio Grande Valley Vipers

2008-09: Quin Snyder, Austin Toros

2007-08: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede

2006-07: Bryan Gates, Idaho Stampede